York Community High School

Looking for your Teacher?

CLICK HERE

for a master department schedule 

Links to teacher websites are on the schedule

t2.png
 

 

Dr.Kirsten Mahoney
Science Department Chair
630-617-2456
kmahoney@elmhurst205.org

Science Department

8th Grade Students and Parents

Welcome to York! Next year you will be enrolled in one of our Biology classes. Please click HERE to see the 8th Grade Night Presentation.

Here are some resources that highlight the differences in our levels of biology. 

 

Biology

  Evolution Calendar & Objectives

  Feedback Loops Screencast

 

Biology Honors 

  Energy, Life, & Biosphere Objectives and Calendar 

  DNA Replication Screencast 

Science Department Fall 2016

Science Department Fall 2016

The mission of the York Science Department is to inspire minds to inquire, think critically, and make informed decisions allowing students to have a positive impact on society. 

CIMG0503.JPG CIMG0529.JPG CIMG0588.JPG APES Zoo FieldTrip.JPG

Scholarships and STEM Opportunities

Opportunities

 

Summer Engineering Camp for Girls at University of Illinois

  • 6th-8th grade June 25th - June 29th
  • 9-12th grade July 17-23rd and July 8-14th
  • Subjects include: Bioengineering, Chemical Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Materials and Science Engineering, Aerospace Engineering, Computer Science, Mechanical Science Engineering 
  • Flyer with information

 

Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory, sponsored by TARGET

  • Non-residential summer internship opportunity 
  • Open to High School Sophomores and Juniors
  • Dates: Monday, June 25th- Friday, August 3rd
  • Includes workplace and classroom experiences five days a week
  • Work assignments in physics or engineering
  • Application due February 21, 2018

 

ISU-AgDiscovery

  • Two-week residential program sponsored by the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) and Illinois State University.
  • Focus on the interconnection between Veterinary Medicine, Animal Science, Laboratory Technology and Diagnostics, and Wildlife Biology and Conservation. 
  • ISU-AgDiscovery dates: July 15-July 28, 2018
  • Ages: 15-17

 

Scholarships

 

 

 

 

 

 

Click HERE to access the Science Course Offerings Website.
 

NGSS: A New Vision for Science Education

Illinois has adopted the Next Generation Science Standards (NGSS).  District 205 Science Teachers are developing and implementing instructional strategies that prepare students to be scientifically-informed citizens. 

Information on NGSS can be found at www.nextgenscience.org/. How will science education look different? Please take a look at this student/parent sheet on implications for science education. 

Science Teachers

Allen, Vanessa
Science Teacher vallen@elmhurst205.org
Anderson, Ryan
Science Teacher, randerson@elmhurst205.org
Behen, Jolee
Special Education English Teacher jbehen@elmhurst205.org
Blaus, Bob
Science Teacher/ECO Club bblaus@elmhurst205.org
Brown, Adam
Science Teacher abrown@elmhurst205.org
Cermak, Lindsey
Science Teacher lcermak@elmhurst205.org
Drach, Jeffrey
Science Teacher/ Science Olympiad Club jdrach@elmhurst205.org
Ewald, Megan
Science Teacher mewald@elmhurst205.org
Felix, Dustin
Science Teacher dfelix@elmhurst205.org
Ferhati, Ellizabeth
Science Teacher eferhati@elmhurst205.org
Golebiowski, Mark
Science Teacher mgolebiowski@elmhurst205.org
Kaniyaly, Veena
Science/ELL Science Teacher vkaniyaly@elmhurst205.org
Mahoney, Kirsten
Science Department Chair kmahoney@elmhurst205.org
Moss, Amy
Science Teacher amoss@elmhurst205.org
Orlow, Teresa
Science Teacher- torlow@elmhurst205.org
Parr, Dana
Science Teacher dparr@elmhurst205.org
Paschke, Jeremy
Science Teacher jpaschke@elmhurst205.org
Ramm, Brian
Science Teacher
Rayan, Ronny
Chemistry Teacher
Rowe, Pat
Special Education Science Teacher prowe@elmhurst205.org
Szymonik, Stephanie
Science Teacher/ELL Science sszymonik@elmhurst205.org
Wolski, Nancy
Science Teacher nwolski@elmhurst205.org
Yun, Lauren
Science Teacher lyun@elmhurst205.org
Zentner, Cynthia
Science Teacher czentner@elmhurst205.org