York Community High School

Family Career and Community Leaders of America (FCCLA)

National Technical Honor Society (NTHS)



Click HERE: for the NTHS Application (link coming soon)


The application, and required accompanying materials will be due December 19, 2017

Applicants will be notified of acceptance in January

The induction ceremony will take place on March 1st at 7am


Please turn materials in to Mr. Ross in Industrial Technology or Mrs. Albert in FCS. 



National NTHS Website




Family and Consumer Sciences

Career and Technical Education Division

Family and Consumer Science Department

Office: A122

Family and Consumer Science Teachers

Family and Consumer Science Teachers

L to R:  Ashley McDonough, Lindsey Goldsmith, Sarah Marik, Laurie Foss, Jenna Callen, Wendy Albert

Congratulations FCCLA 2018 Regional Competitors

Congratulations to York students who participated in the Family Career and Community Leaders of America regional competitions at College of DuPage on January 26th and February 2nd. FCCLA is a Career ...more

Career Internship and Invitation to Teach Program information

Students should discuss their desire to enroll in one of the courses listed below with their counselor during their registration meeting. This does not guarantee enrollment in the course. Students must also submit the appropriate application by the deadline. The applications give further information about candidate selection and when students will be notified if they have been accepted into the course.




Students must have access to transportation. The school district does not provide transportation to off site class experiences.


Students wishing to receive priority consideration for a parking spot due to enrollment in this program must submit their parking application by the deadline for the general lottery. Spots will be assigned at the start of the school year once course enrollment has been verified.


Career Internship


Invitation to Teach

  • Students applying for Invitation to Teach need to complete THIS APPLICATION and submit a hard copy, along with the essay questions and a letter of recommendation to Miss Foss in the FCS Office (A122) by 1/29/2018.

Resources and Help

Need Help?  Looking for your teacher? 




for a master department schedule

Learn more about our La Brigade Restaurant program!

View the video below to learn more about the La Brigade Restaurant and Food and Restaurant Managment course.

This text will be replaced

@YHSFCS Twitter Feed


Division Course Offerings 2017-2018

Contact Us

Career and Technical Education
Division Chair

Wendy Albert
(630) 617-2408
Email Me

Department Secretary
Karen Hourihan
(630) 617-2416
Email Me

Department Teachers

Albert, Wendy
Career Tech Ed Division Chair, La Brigade Restaurant walbert@elmhurst205.org
Callen, Jenna
Foss, Laurie
Family & Consumer Sciences Teacher lfoss@elmhurst205.org
Goldsmith, Lindsey
Family and Consumer Science Teacher lgoldsmith@elmhurst205.org
Marik, Sarah
Family & Consumer Science Teacher smarik@elmhurst205.org
McDonough, Ashley
Family and Consumer Science Teacher amcdonough@elmhurst205.org

For questions about Mrs. McDonough's classes from 10/12 - 12/22 please contact her sub, Linda Snyder. LSnyder@elmhurst205.org or the department chair. 

How to ACHIEVE in FCS!

FCS Students - looking to make the most out of your FCS classroom experience?  CLICK HERE  for more information about teacher expectations for student work during lab time, individual work time, group work time, and teacher lead instruction!