York Community High School

Department Websites

Programs and Services

Click on the following links for more information about our student run businesses at York!

 

LaBrigade Restaurant 
(Student Run Restaurant)


Little Dukes Preschool 
(Student Run Preschool for Community Children)

 

Technology Services Internship
(Technology support help desk for students)


 

Looking for your Teacher?

Organizations

Student Leadership Organizations

DECA

FCCLA

Skills USA

National Technical Honors Society

 

Professional Organizations

Association for Career and Technical Education

NTHS_logo.jpg

National Technical Honors Society

 
 
Please turn materials in to Mr. Ross in Industrial Technology or Mrs. Albert in FCS. The deadline is 3/1/2019.
 

CAREER AND TECHNICAL EDUCATION

Mission

The division of Career and Technical Education will challenge students of all ability levels to develop problem solving, critical thinking, and decision making skills through real world applications. Learning experiences complement and enhance understanding of core academic concepts and help students develop technical, personal, and professional skills needed for future success.

CTE offerings.png

Watch our video to learn more about CTE classes and opportunities!

This text will be replaced

Video segments

 

Start - 4:23 Introduction to the 3 departments, course opportunities and career clusters.
4:23 - 7:29 See how our classes provides hands on learning opportunities.
7:29 - 10:02 Hear from some of our students about opportunities for real world learning.
10:02 - 13:14 Learn about some of the transferable skills that you'll build that apply to a variety of career fields and hear what some of our students are planning to major in.
13:14 - 15:16 Learn how our courses add value to your future (Ex: Earn college credit, Professional certifications).
15:16 - 20:07 Explore how core academic skills are reinforced through real world learning opportunities. Learn more about STEM and how to fulfill your Consumer Education graduation requirement.
20:07 - End Explore opportunities for extending learning leadership beyond the classroom through student organizations and National Technical Honors Society.

 

CTE.png

CTE

Division Course Offerings

Updated TSI Hours Sign 2017 (2).png

College and Career Readiness

Earn college credit and industry certifications while in high school!

 

College Credit Courses for 2017-2018

  • Business Management Honors = COD Management 1100
  • Invitation to Teach = COD Education 1100 and COD Education 1101
  • Food and Restaurant Management = COD Culinary 1120 Sanitation 
  • Principles of Physics Technology = COD Electronics 1110
  • Architectural Drafting/CAD Honors = COD Architecture 1211
  • Technical Drafting/CAD (year) = COD Manufacturing 1101
  • 2D Game Design = COD CIS 1211 (New in 2017-2018)
  • Personal Finance = COD BUSIN 1120 (Note - this class received dual credit from COD beginning in the 2017-2018 school year)

 

Certifications

Foodservice Sanitation Manager Certification

ICAR Certification

Microsoft Office Specialist Certification

A+ Certification

 

Division Faculty

Albert, Wendy
Career Tech Ed Division Chair, La Brigade Restaurant walbert@elmhurst205.org
Barnum, William
Computer Science Teacher wbarnum@elmhurst205.org
Bartholomew, Kristen
Business Teacher kbartholomew@elmhurst205.org
Billerman, John
Business Teacher jbillerman@elmhurst205.org
Birchler, Elizabeth
Teacher
Borel, Jim
Business Department Chair jborel@elmhurst205.org
Calenberg, Daniel
Industrial Tech Teacher dcalenberg@elmhurst205.org
Callen, Jenna
Teacher
Conrad, Jill
Instructional Coach jillconrad@elmhurst205.org
Crist, Laurie
Family & Consumer Sciences Teacher Lcrist@elmhurst205.org
Diebold, Katie
Instructional Coach kdiebold@elmhurst205.org
Goldsmith, Lindsey
Family and Consumer Science Teacher lgoldsmith@elmhurst205.org
Haderlein, Steven
Business/Computer Science Teacher shaderlein@elmhurst205.org
Marik, Sarah
Family & Consumer Science Teacher smarik@elmhurst205.org
McDonough, Ashley
Family and Consumer Science Teacher amcdonough@elmhurst205.org
Robak, Ronald
Industrial Technology Teacher rrobak@elmhurst205.org
Ross, Ken
Industrial Tech. Dept. Leader: SkillsUSA Advisor kross@elmhurst205.org
Stolz III, Joseph
Graphic Communications Teacher jstolz@elmhurst205.org

Contact Us

Career and Technical Education
Division Chair 
Wendy Albert
(630) 617-2408
Email Me

 

Secretary
Laura Liace
(630) 617-2416
Email Me