York Community High School
mband nick.jpg
madeline Grammys_0034.JPG
05-16-13 Grammys_0046.JPG

Performing Arts

Mr. William Riddle
Performing Arts Department Chair

(630) 617-2462
Email me

 Performing Arts are presented as a serious academic enterprise within the total school curriculum.  Three areas of emphasis within the department are offered: Performance (bands, choirs, and orchestras), Technical (piano, guitar, and dance), and Classroom (music theory).  All Performing Arts courses meet the fine arts graduation requirement. *Dance may be taken to fulfill fine arts or physical education requirements (must be declared in advance).

Check out our York Music Parents Association (YMPA) website for more information on what is happening in the York Performing Arts Department

York Music Department name Grammy Signature School Semifinalist for the fifth straight year!

Finalists to be announced in March 2016!

Congratulations to the York High School Performing Arts Department for being named a Grammy Signature Gold School for 2012-13

Congratulations to the York High School Performing Arts Department for being named a Grammy Signature Gold School for 2012-13

York Performing Arts 2017-18 Calendar

 


 

 

August 9-11 Marching Band Camp 1:00-9:00 pm Stadium, Band Room
September 8, Fri. Home Football Game 6:15 pm Stadium
September 13, Wed Collage Concert 7:30 pm Field House
September 22, Fri Home Football Game (Homecoming) 6:15 pm Stadium
September 25, Mon Greens Sale Kick-Off    
September 26, Tues Orchestra Concerto/Aria Auditions 5:30 pm Choir room
October 6, Fri. Home Football Game 6:15pm Stadium
October 7, Sat Marching Band Invitational 3:00 pm Stadium
October 11, Wed ILMEA Auditions (Selected Students) evening Sandburg HS
October 12, Thur Greens Sales Orders Due    
October 20, Fri Home Football Game 6:15 pm Stadium
October 23, Mon Orchestra Chamber Ens. Concert 7:30 pm York Commons
October 26-29 Fall Play 7:30 pm Auditorium
November 8, Wed Dance Performance 7:30 pm Black Box
November 11, Sat ILMEA District Jazz Festival (Selected Students) all day TBA
November 18, Sat ILMEA District Festival all day TBA
November 29, Wed Symphony Orchestra Dress Rehearsal 3:20 pm Auditorium
November 30, Thur Holiday Orchestra Concert 7:30 pm Auditorium
December 6, Wed Symphonic Band Dress Rehearsal 3:20 pm Auditorium
December 7, Thur Holiday Band Concert 7:30 pm Auditorium
December 7, Thur Winter Art Show   Commons
December 13, Wed Choral Dress Rehearsal 3:20 pm Auditorium
December 14, Thur Holiday Choral Concert 7:30 pm Auditorium
January 24-27 ILMEA All-State Festival   Peoria, IL
February 1-4 Winter Drama Festival 7:30 pm Auditorium
February 5-6 Talent Show Auditions    
February 7, Wed Winter Orchestra Dress Rehearsal 3:20 pm Auditorium
February 8, Thur Winter Orchestra Concert 7:30 pm Auditorium
February 13, Tues Jazz Band Dress Rehearsal 3:20 pm York Commons
February 13, Tues Jazz Band Dinner/Concert 7:30 pm York Commons
February 14, Wed Winter Choral Dress Rehearsal 3:20 pm Auditorium
February 15, Thur Winter Choral Concert 7:30 pm Auditorium
February 21, Wed Symphonic Band Dress Rehearsal 3:20 pm Auditorium
February 22, Thur Winter Band Concert 7:30 pm Auditorium
February 26-March 1 Fine Arts Week TBA York
March 1, Thur Talent Show 7:30 pm Auditorium
March 6, Tues York Dance Company/Advanced Dance 7:30 pm  Black Box
March 10, Sat Marching Band/St. Patrick's Day Parade 12:00 pm Elmhurst
March 13, Tues All District Choral Concert   York
March 14, Wed Orchestra Solo Night 5:00 pm Rooms TBA
March 15, Thur Band Solo Night 5:00 pm Rooms TBA
March 23-27 Orchestra Tour to Disney/Universal Studios    
April 19-22 Spring Musical   Auditorium
April 26, Thurs Jazz Ensemble Dress Rehearsal 3:20 pm York Commons
April 26, Thurs Jazz Ensemble Concert 7:30 pm York Commons
May 1, Tues Cadet/Concert Band Concert 7:30 pm Auditorium
May 2, Wed Symphonic Band Dress Rehearsal 3:20 pm Auditorium
May 3, Thur Symphonic Band Concert 7:30 pm Auditorium
May 5, Sat Album Release Party TBA Schubas
May 7, Mon Percussion Concert 7:30 pm Commons
May 9, Wed Choral Dress Rehearsal 3:20 pm Auditorium
May 10, Thur Choral Concert 7:30 pm Auditorium
May 10, Thur Spring Art Show   Commons
May 15, Tues Cadet/Concert Orchestra Concert 7:30 pm Auditorium
May 16, Wed Symphony Orchestra Dress Rehearsal 3:20 pm Auditorium

May 17, Thur

Symphony Orchestra Concert 7:30 pm Auditorium
TBA Orchestra Performs for Graduation 1:00 pm Field House
May 28, Mon. Memorial Day Parade 9:30 am Elmhurst

Dance Home Page

Performing Arts Locker

PPT, Word, Excel Viewers [Go]
Acrobat Reader [Go]

Recent York Band Graduates in the Northwestern Wildcat Marching Band

Recent York Band Graduates in the Northwestern Wildcat Marching Band

Recent York Graduates in the Fighting Illini Marching Band

Recent York Graduates in the Fighting Illini Marching Band
Gemkow, Christopher
Music & English Teacher
Marianetti, Rebecca
Performing Arts Teacher marianetti@elmhurst205.org
Ostwald, Ray
Performing Arts Teacher, Orchestra Director rostwald@elmhurst205.org
Pavlik, Michael
Performing Arts Teacher mpavlik@elmhurst205.org
Riddle, William
Performing and Visual Arts Division Chair & Summer School Director wriddle@elmh
Sapozhnikov, Anna
Performing Arts Teacher asapozhnikov@elmhurst205.org
Scurlock, Michelle
Physical Education Performing Arts Teacher mscurlock@elmhurst205.org
05-16-13 Grammys_0002.JPG

See Band Homepage for Marching Band Camp Information