York Community High School

World Studies

#0120 World Studies

Grade 9 / Full Year Course – 2.0 credits

World Studies is a foundational social studies course that introduces students to their world through the blend of a histrical approach and a look at 21st century global issues that impact the international community.  The course is framed primarily around the history of western civilization, yet addresses the historical and cultural relevance of other regions of the world.  In addition, the course offers students the opportunity to examine modern-day global challenges that are thematically linked to the historical content they have learned.  Development of reading, writing, speaking, listening, and critical thinking skills, in the context of the social studies, will be emphasized.      

Rationale: World Studies is a required course for graduation and provides a foundation for subsequent required social studies courses in terms of content and skill development.  It is the course in the social studies sequence that provides the most robust global perpective and begins devloping in students a sense of global citizenship.

 

Teachers who teach World Studies:

Bartholomew, Kristen (630) 617-2400 ex.x7239 Business Teacher kbartholomew@elmhurst205.org
Carlson, Michele (630) 617-2400 ex.7152 Social Studies /RAYS/ Future Diplomats of America mcarlson@elmhurst205.org
DiNovo, Michael (630) 617-2478 Social Studies Teacher/ Department Chair mdinovo@elmhurst205.org
Drumm, Brian (630) 617-2400 ex.7301 English Teacher - Assistant Athletic Director bdrumm@elmhurst205.org
Gearing, Adam (630) 617-2400 ex.7355 Social Studies Teacher agearing@elmhurst205.org
Green, Joshua Teacher
Iverson, Patty (630) 617-2400 ex.5275 Social Studies Teacher piverson@elmhurst205.org
Kern, Charlie (630) 617-2400 ex.7234 Social Studies Teacher ckern@elmhurst205.org
Moran, Matt (630) 617-2400 ex.7285 Social Studies Teacher mmoran@elmhurst205.org
Olson, Laura (630) 617-2400 ex.7134 Social Studies Teacher lolson@elmhurst205.org
Riskus, Justin (630) 617-2400 ex.7267 Social Studies Teacher
Rubio, Lorenzo (630) 617-2400 ex.7151 ELL Teacher/Chicano Bowl/Hispanos Unidos lrubio@elmhurst205.org